

City of Apache Junction, Arizona

Meeting Minutes Planning and Zoning Commission

Meeting location:
City Council Chambers
at City Hall
300 E Superstition Blvd
Apache Junction AZ
85119

apachejunctionaz.gov P: (480) 474-5083

Doors are open to the public at least 15 minutes prior to the posted meeting start time.

Tuesday, December 10, 2024

7:00 PM

City Council Chambers

1. Call to Order

Chair Hantzsche called the meeting to order at 7:00 pm.

2. Pledge of Allegiance

Chair Hantzsche led the Pledge of Allegiance.

3. Roll Call

Present: 5 - Chairperson Hantzsche

Commissioner Gage Commissioner Bigelow Commissioner Starr Commissioner Mykland

Excused: 1 - Vice Chair Barker

Absent: 1 - Commissioner Kalan

Staff present:

Rudy Esquivias, DS Director

4. Consent Agenda

Commissioner Gage moved to accept the agenda as presented and approve the minutes of the November 12, 2024 regular meeting. Commissioner Bigelow seconded the motion.

Yes: 5 - Chairperson Hantzsche, Commissioner Gage, Commissioner Bigelow,

Commissioner Starr and Commissioner Mykland

No: 0

Excused: 1 - Vice Chair Barker

Absent: 1 - Commissioner Kalan

Chair Hantzsche called for a motion.

<u>24-938</u> Consideration of approval of agenda.

24-939 Consideration of approval of the minutes of the November 12, 2024 regular

meeting.

5. Public Hearings

None.

6. Old Business

None.

7. New Business

24-955 Election of chair and vice chair.

Chair Hantzsche called for a motion to open the nominations for the chairperson.

Commissioner Gage moved to open the nominations for chairperson. Commissioner Mykland seconded the motion.

Yes: 5 - Chair Hantzsche, Commissioner Gage, Commissioner Starr,

Commissioner Mykland and Commissioner Bigelow

No: 0

Absent: 2 - Vice Chair Barker and Commissioner Kalan

Chair Hantzsche called for nominations.

Commissioner Gage nominated Dave Hantzsche for chairperson.

Chair Hantzsche called for nominations three times.

Chair Hantzsche called for a motion to close nominations.

Commissioner Bigelow moved to close nominations. Commissioner Mykland seconded the motion.

Yes: 5 - Chair Hantzsche, Commissioner Gage, Commissioner Starr,

Commissioner Mykland and Commissioner Bigelow

No: 0

Absent: 2 - Vice Chair Barker and Commissioner Kalan

Chair Hantzsche called for a motion to approve Dave Hantzsche for chairperson.

Commissioner Gage moved that Dave Hantzsche be approved for chairperson. Commissioner Starr seconded the motion.

Yes: 5 - Chair Hantzsche, Commissioner Gage, Commissioner Starr,

Commissioner Mykland and Commissioner Bigelow

No: 0

Absent: 2 - Vice Chair Barker and Commissioner Kalan

Director Esquivias announced that Chair Hantzsche was still the chairperson.

Chair Hantzsche called for a motion to open the nominations for vice chairperson.

Commissioner Gage moved to open the nominations for vice chairperson. Commissioner Mykland seconded the motion.

Yes:

5 - Chair Hantzsche, Commissioner Gage, Commissioner Starr, Commissioner Mykland and Commissioner Bigelow

No: 0

Absent: 2 - Vice Chair Barker and Commissioner Kalan

Chair Hantzsche called for nominations.

Commissioner Bigelow nominated Robin Barker for vice chairperson.

Chair Hantzsche called for nominations three times.

Chair Hantzsche called for a motion to close nominations.

Commissioner Gage moved to close nominations. Commissioner Mykland seconded the motion.

Yes:

5 - Chair Hantzsche, Commissioner Gage, Commissioner Starr, Commissioner Mykland and Commissioner Bigelow

No: 0

Absent: 2 - Vice Chair Barker and Commissioner Kalan

Chair Hantzsche called for a motion to approve Robin Barker for vice chairperson.

Commissioner Bigelow moved that Robin Barker be approved for vice chairperson. Commissioner Mykland seconded the motion.

Yes:

5 - Chair Hantzsche, Commissioner Gage, Commissioner Starr, Commissioner Mykland and Commissioner Bigelow

No: 0

Absent: 2 - Vice Chair Barker and Commissioner Kalan

Director Esquivias announced that Robin Barker is still the vice chairperson.

8. Information and Reports

None.

9. Director's Report

Director Esquivias welcomed the new commissioners to the Planning and Zoning Commission and wished everyone a happy holiday. He mentioned there were items coming up in January.

10. Selection of Meeting Dates, Times, Location and Purpose

24-940 Regular meeting at 7:00 pm on Tuesday, December 24, 2024, in the city council chambers located at 300 E. Superstition Blvd., Apache Junction.

Commissioner Bigelow moved to hold a regular meeting on January 14, 2025 at 7:00 pm in the council chambers, located at 300 E. Superstition Boulevard. Commissioner Gage seconded the motion.

Yes: 5 - Chairperson Hantzsche, Commissioner Gage, Commissioner Bigelow,

Commissioner Starr and Commissioner Mykland

No: 0

Excused: 1 - Vice Chair Barker

Absent: 1 - Commissioner Kalan

Chair Hantzsche called for a motion.

11. Adjournment

Chair Dave Hantzsche	