## § 2-22-2 MEMBERSHIP.

(A) The Planning and Zoning Commission shall be composed of a total of 7 members who shall be residents of the city. The members of the Commission shall be appointed by the Mayor and Council. These appointments shall be for a period of 3 years, unless sooner removed by the Mayor and Council, either with or without cause. The terms of the members shall be so staggered that the terms of no more than 3 members shall expire in any one year. The appointments shall be for 2 members with terms beginning on July 1, 1983, and expiring on June 30, 1986; for 2 members with terms beginning on July 1, 1982, and expiring on June 30, 1986; for 2 members with terms beginning on July 1, 1982, and expiring on June 30, 1985; and 3 members with terms beginning July 1, 1981 and expiring on June 30, 1984. Thereafter, upon expiration of the term of office, all new appointments shall be made by the Mayor and Council for full 3-year terms, and all terms shall expire October 31, except that in the event of the death or resignation of a member, the vacancy shall be filled by appointment of the Mayor and Council for the unexpired term. The term of all members shall extend until their successors are qualified; except that 3 successive unexcused or unexplained absences from any regular or special meeting shall be grounds for termination at the will and pleasure of the Mayor and Council without the necessity of a hearing or notice and such action shall be final.

(B) All members shall serve without pay. Members of the Commission may be reimbursed for actual expenses incurred in connection with their duties upon prior authorization or ratification by the Commission and approval of the expenditures by the Council.

(Prior Code, § 11-1-2) (Am. Ord. 1328, passed 10-27-2008)